The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International) was founded in 1916 to accredit schools of business. The current mission is to advance quality management education worldwide through accreditation, thought leadership, and value-added services. It is regarded as the benchmark for business school quality among the academic community.

The first accreditations took place in 1919. For many years, only North American business schools were accredited by AACSB (at that time, AACSB stood for American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business). It was an early supporter of internationalizing business education. The first school outside North America to be accredited was the top French business school ESSEC, in 1997.

Founding members

Association To Advance Collegiate Schools Of Business - AACSB International | The Association to Advance Collegiate ... - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business is a global, nonprofit   membership organization of educational institutions, businesses, and other ...

Its founding members were:

  • Yale University
  • Columbia University
  • Dartmouth College
  • Harvard University
  • New York University
  • Northwestern University
  • Ohio State University
  • Tulane University
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Urbanaâ€"Champaign
  • University of Nebraskaâ€"Lincoln
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of Wisconsinâ€"Madison
  • Cornell University

Latest events

In 2009, AACSB opened its first regional headquarters for Asia-Pacific in Singapore. In 2014, AACSB opened its second regional headquarters for Europe, Africa, and the Middle East (EMEA) in Amsterdam, Netherlands. The AACSB is officially recognized by the CHEA Council of Higher Education Accreditation.

During the International Conference and Annual Meeting (ICAM) in 2013, AACSB members unanimously approved the 2013 business and accounting Accreditation Standards (the standards were last evaluated and changed in 2003). The 2013 Standards ensure that business schools who achieve accreditation are best in class in how they meet the needs of their core stakeholders-students and employers. The Standards drive innovation, engagement and impact with students, employers and the communities they serve. The Blue Ribbon Committee on Accreditation Quality (BRC) was charged with evaluating and recommendation improvements to the accreditation standards, processes and infrastructure. After more than two years of study and collaborations with the global management education community and employer organizations, a new set of standards have been developed and chosen by nearly 700 of the best business schools globally.

As of February 2015, 727 schools have achieved AACSB Accreditation throughout 45 countries and territories (less than 5% of the estimated number of schools offering business degrees worldwide). 182 accounting programs are AACSB Accredited throughout 7 countries and territories. AACSB Membership should not be confused with AACSB Accreditation. All Accredited schools are members of AACSB, but not all members are Accredited. AACSB has 1,384 member business schools in 84 countries and territories.

On July 1, 2013, Robert S. Sullivan, Dean of Rady School of Management, was named the chair of the AACSB.

Latest schools to receive the accreditation

The latest schools to receive the accreditation include:

  • Frankfurt School of Finance & Management (Germany)
  • Carleton University (Canada)
  • IÉSEG School of Management (France)
  • Cardiff University (United Kingdom)
  • ESC Rennes School of Business (France)
  • Imperial College Business School (United Kingdom)
  • Indian Institute of Management Calcutta (India)
  • Macquarie Graduate School of Management (Australia)
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology (United States)
  • National Institute of Development Administration (Thailand)
  • Ryerson University (Canada)
  • HEC Montreal (Canada)
  • Southern University at New Orleans (United States)
  • The University of Liverpool (United Kingdom)
  • University of Bradford (United Kingdom)
  • University of Dallas (United States)
  • University of Stellenbosch (South Africa)
  • Florida Southern College (United States)
  • T.A. Pai Management Institute (India)
  • The Zagreb School of Economics and Management (Croatia)
  • Rady School of Management (United States)
  • Saint Mary's College of California (United States)
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia (Malaysia)
  • ESSCA School of Management (France)
  • Universitas Gadjah Mada (Indonesia)

See also

Association To Advance Collegiate Schools Of Business - AACSB Accreditation | Importance in Choosing a Business School - Resources for prospective students, parents, counselors, business school faculty,   and business graduate recruiters on specialized, business accreditation by ...
  • List of AACSB-accredited schools (accounting)
  • Regional accreditation
  • Triple accreditation
  • CHEA


External links

  • Official website

Post a Comment